Preservation Achievement Awards


Each year the Preservation Alliance recognizes outstanding preservation work through its Achievement Awards program. Selection criteria include the quality of work, the project’s innovation, degree of challenge or accomplishment, and the level of community support. For construction projects, award reviewers also consider the importance of the historical resource and use of the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

This year’s awards will be presented on May 31, 2019 at the statewide Preservation Conference in Littleton starting at 4 p.m. Email with any questions about the ceremony.

“We welcome this opportunity to recognize outstanding projects and people while inspiring others,” said the Preservation Alliance’s Executive Director Jennifer Goodman. 

Generous program sponsors of the Preservation Achievement Awards include: Lavallee Bresinger Architects, North Branch Construction, and Kas-Bar Realty, Inc., Littleton Millwork, Inc, Norton Asset Management, Nobis Engineering, Petersen Engineering, Piscataqua Bank, Sash and Solder and Turnstone Corporation.

Recent winners include the City of Rochester for their rehabilitation of a former fire station slated for demolition, CATCH Neighborhood Housing for the rehabilitation of the Franklin Power and Light Mill into 45 units of workforce housing, the Francestown Town Hall, Lucky’s Coffee Garage in Lebanon, and the Ashland Historical Society for the rescue and restoration of the Whitten House.  

Other past winners include PC Connection and Binnie Media’s renovations of historic buildings for corporate headquarters, the restoration of the Acworth Meetinghouse, Gorham Town Hall and the Gregg Free Library in Wilton, the rescue of Daniel Webster Farm in Franklin, Lane Homestead in Stratham and the Wentworth-by-the-Sea hotel in New Castle, residential property revitalizations by NeighborWorks Greater Manchester, the re-use of the Plymouth Railroad Station, the proactive policies of the Lighthouse Kids, Gunstock Mountain Resort and Gunstock Mountain Historic Preservation Society, and the Troy, Moultonborough and Goffstown heritage commissions.  

To learn more about past winners click here.


Links to Pages Within the "Events" Section